

BISHOP COTTON WOMEN'S CHRISTIAN LAW COLLEGE

#19, 3rd Cross, Mission Road, C.S.I Compound, Bengaluru- 560027 Recognized by Government of Karnataka / Affiliated to Karnataka State Law University, Approved by the Bar Council of India



REPORT OF

10TH MOOT COURT COMPETITION

"Prudentia Conscientia Ingenium Occursus" Wisdom, Knowledge and Talent meet

APRIL 25th TO 27th,2025.

Faculty Coordinator

MS. Shyni K P

Student Coordinators

Eunice

Amrutha Varshini

Website: www.bcwclc.edu.in Email: mootcourtcommittee@bcwclc.edu.in

'Nec Dextrorsum, Nec Sinistrorsum'

Empowering Women Empowering India

REPORT ON 10th MOOT COURT COMPETITION

The 10th Moot Court Competition of Bishop Cotton Women's Christian Law College "Prudentia Conscientia Ingenium Occursus," (Wisdom, Knowledge and Talent Meet) was scheduled from 25th to 27th April 2025 with the intention to bring law students from across the country with the objective of providing a dynamic platform for law students to showcase their advocacy, research, legal drafting skills, critical thinking and professionalism.

The Moot Court problem for this year centered around Public International Law, with particular focus on asylum and extradition, this topic was selected to encourage the participants to engage in real world legal dilemmas on a global scale. To ensure the problem's accuracy, relevance and legal depth, subject matter experts in internation law like Dr Banerjee Chakka, Dean and Professor of Law

The competition had 16 teams, to ensure a knowledgeable assessment, a panel of 35 judges, 16 for the Preliminary Round, 8 in Quarter Final, 6 in Semi Finals and 5 in the Final Round specializing in the field of Constitutional Law and Public International law adjudicated the competition.

The competition was inaugurated on 25th April at 5:30 Pm by Chief Guest, Hon'ble Mr. Justice Ashok G. Nijagannavar, Former Judge, High Court of Karnataka , MemberLaw Commission of Karnataka and the Guests of Honor, Mr. Devadas Sadhu ,**Karnataka Central Diocese graced the event.**





On 26th April 2025, at 8.45 am, the judges were given orientation and were led to their respective court halls. The first Preliminary Round began at 9:00 AM, followed by the second preliminary round at 11:30 AM. The competition featured a total of Eight court halls, with each round being judged by a Division bench.



Out of the 16 teams that participated in the preliminary rounds, eight teams successfully qualified for the Quarter-finals.Prior to the Quarter-finals, the judges received a briefing regarding the scoring criteria for the competition. The division bench responsible for adjudicating the teams in the Quarter-finals consisted of advocates specialized in Constitutional Law and scholars in the domain of Public International Law.





From the 8 teams by the rule of Knock out Four teams successfully qualified for the Semi-Finals. At 5 pm again, using Randomiser tool the order of the matches were determined and the teams exchanged their memorials in preparation for the Semi-Finals.

On 27th April, the Semi-Final rounds began with orientation on marking criteria to the Judges at 9.15 AM. The session started at 9.30 AM. A panel of three judges presided over the proceedings.

The judges were:

1. Adv Rawley ,Rawley Associates Law offices, Advocate, High Cout of Karnataka)

2. Adv Vivek Holla, Holla and Holla, High Court of Karnataka

- 3. Adv Nidhi Venugopal, Supreme Court of India
- 4. Adv RAWLEY MUDDAPPA, High Court of Karnataka
- 5. Adv Geetha Raj, Advocate, High Court of Karnataka
- 6. Adv Adithya , High Court of Karnataka





Again on the Knock out basis 2 teams advanced to the final round to compete for the championship. Following the draw of lots and the exchange of memorials, the final round commenced at 2:00 PM. The panel for the final round consisted of a five-judge bench, entrusted with the task of evaluating the performances of the competing teams.

The judges were:

1. Hon'ble Mr.Justice Venkatesh Naik T,Judge ,Karnataka High Court

2. Adv Prabhuling K. Navadgi, Senior Cou ..., Former Advocate General of Karnataka

3. Adv T Suryanarayana, Senior Advocate, High Court of Karnataka

4. Prof Dr. Mukul Saxena, Director Centre of excellence in Public Policy, Sustainability and ESG Research, Alliance University, Bangalore

5. Adv . Raghavendra. S, Advocate High Court of Karnataka and Faculty of Law

Teams contested for final round were

1. T-14

2. T-16

The Valedictory ceremony started at 4.30pm, the Chief Guest was, Hon'ble Mr. Hon'ble Mr.Justice Venkatesh Naik T, High Court of Karnatak who delivered the valedictory address highlighting the significance of research and strategies for its enhancement. The distinguished attendees, included Guest of Honour, Adv Prabhuling K.Navadgi, Designated Senior Counsel, High Court of Karnataka and Former Advocate General of Karnataka .Adv T.Suryanarayana, Designated Senior Counsel, High Court of Karnataka, Prof, Dr.Mukul Saxena, Director Centre of Excellence in Public Policy, Sustainability and ESG Research, Alliance University and Advocate Raghavendra S, Advocate High Court of Karnataka and Visiting Faculty of Law. The Principal, Prof. Dr. Indirani K.S., delivered the welcome address at the Valedictory ceremony. The Chief Guest and other esteemed dignitaries were honoured during the event, where they shared their valuable insights with the participants and students. Ms. Shyni K P, the faculty Moot Court Coordinator, presented the report on the 10th Moot Court Competition, while the vote of thanks was delivered by Ms. K Amrutha Varshini, the student Moot Court Secretary.

The Winners were awarded as mentioned:

The 6 category of awards were:

1.Champions

The 10th National Moot Court Competition, Prudentia Conscientia Ingenium Occursus, was bagged by IFIM Law School ,Bangalore.

The participants were:

- Kush Tripathi
- Parth Dwivedi
- Yash Pathak

The Champions were awarded with a cash prize worth of Rs,25000, A Trophy and an internship along with Law Skill Course sponsored by Manupartra.

2.Runners-Up

The Runners-Up of 10th Moot Court Competition were School of

Excellence in Law, Chennai

The participants were:

- Swathi R
- Pavithran Saroj Kumar
- Shiren Sasikumar

The Runners-Up were awarded with a cash prize worth of Rs,15000 a

Runner -Up trophy and an internship of Law Skill Course by

Manupatra.

3.Best Memorial

The Best Memorial, a cash prize worth of Rs. 3000 and LawSkill courses offered by Manupatra was awarded to Sathyabama Institute of Technology, Chennai

The participants were:

Harini S
Sasha Alfred Murray
Pradeep C.G

4.Best Counsel (Male):

The Best Counsel (Male) was awarded to Mr. Partha Dwivedi ; from IFIM Law School, Bangalore. The winner was awarded a cash prize worth of Rs. 5000 a trophy and LawSkill course by Manupatra.

5.Best Counsel (Female)

• The Best Counsel (Female) was awarded to Ms. Swathi R from Sathyabama Institute of Technology, Chennai. The winner was awarded a cash prize worth of Rs. 5000 a trophy and LawSkill course by Manupatra.

6.Best Promising Advocate

The recipient of the Best Promising Advocate award was selected based on their exceptional performance in the Preliminary Rounds. The Best Promising Advocate award was awarded to Ms. Swathi R from School of Excellence in Law,Chennai . The award included a cash prize worth of Rs. 2000 a trophy and Lawskill course by Manupatra.











